Water Quality Guidelines for Aquatic Ecosystem Health

National water quality guidelines provide a consistent basis for assessing water quality conditions for a designated water use – in this case for the protection of freshwater and marine aquatic life and wildlife. In Canada, there are additional water quality guidelines specific to drinking water, recreational use, and agricultural water use. 

Water quality guidelines can be a useful tool in setting water quality objectives (or targets) to ensure that the concentration of various substances within the water, and the other physical and chemical characteristics of that water, do not have an adverse impact on the health of the fish, plants and other organisms that live there. 

DataStream displays national guidelines for the protection of aquatic life that are published by both the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) and the United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). These guidelines provide recommended concentration levels for various physical, biological and chemical parameters. 

Site specificity

National water quality guidelines are intended to be broadly applicable across the country. However, unique conditions in some places mean that the guidelines may be over- or under-protective in some areas. 

For example, this might occur if there are species in an area that are more sensitive (or less sensitive) than the species that were studied when the guideline was developed. In other cases, natural background levels of a substance may exceed the guideline without any observed effect on locally-adapted species. Additionally, the unique mix of substances and attributes of water at a given location may result in a substance being more toxic (or less toxic) than it was found to be under the range of conditions that were studied in setting the guideline.

In addition to national guidelines, some provinces and territories have developed their own water quality guidelines. We are currently exploring the potential for additional functionality on DataStream that will enable the display of these provincial/territorial guidelines as well. 

Acute vs Chronic Guidelines

Acute guidelines are set based on the effects of short-term, transient exposures (e.g. abnormal discharges and spills) and generally present higher concentration levels. 

Chronic guidelines, in contrast, are based on the effects of continuous, long-term exposure and have lower recommended concentration levels. 

CCME and US EPA guidelines use slightly different approaches in defining and assessing acute vs chronic exposures.  

  • CCME Acute: These guidelines are created using data from short-term exposure periods (24-96 hours). The concentration levels specified are not intended to protect against adverse effects, but rather indicate the level where severe effects are likely to be observed.
  • CCME Chronic: These guidelines identify maximum concentration levels (or ranges for attributes such as pH) that are intended to protect all forms of aquatic life, at all life stages, for indefinite exposure periods (≥7 day for fish and invertebrates, ≥24 hour for aquatic plants and algae). 
  • US EPA Acute :  These guidelines refer to the highest 1-hour average concentration that should not result in unacceptable effects if it does not occur more than once every three years, on average. 
  • US EPA Chronic: These guidelines refer to highest 4-day average concentration that should not result in unacceptable effects if it does not occur more than once every three years, on average. 

Freshwater vs Marine Guidelines

Freshwater and marine environments have fundamental differences in water chemistry. For this reason separate guidelines are set for these two different water body types. To date, guidelines have not been developed that are specific to the protection of estuarine species.

CCME provides the following definitions for each water body type:

  • Freshwater: Total Dissolved Salt Content ≤ 1000 ppm (1 g/L or 1 ppt)
  • Marine:  Total Dissolved Salt Content > 5000 ppm (5 g/L or 50 ppt)

Further Reading

For more information on how DataStream calculates and displays CCME and US EPA guidelines visit our References page.

Lignes directrices sur la qualité des eaux pour la santé des écosystèmes aquatiques

Les recommandations nationales pour la qualité des eaux fournissent une base cohérente pour évaluer les conditions de qualité des eaux pour u ne utilisation désignée des eaux – en l’occurrence pour la protection de la vie aquatique et marine et de la faune aquatique. Au Canada, il existe des recommandations supplémentaires pour la qualité des eaux qui sont propres à l’eau potable, et à l’utilisation de l’eau à des fins agricoles et de loisirs.

Les recommandations pour la qualité des eaux peuvent être un outil utile pour fixer des objectifs (ou cibles) de qualité des eaux afin de garantir que la concentration de diverses substances dans l'eau et les autres caractéristiques physiques et chimiques de cette eau n'ont pas d'incidence négative sur la santé des poissons, des plantes et des autres organismes qui y vivent.

DataStream affiche des directives nationales pour la protection de la vie aquatique qui sont publiées par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME) et la United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). Ces directives fournissent les niveaux de concentration recommandés pour divers paramètres physiques, biologiques et chimiques.

Spécificité du site

Les recommandations nationales pour la qualité des eaux devraient être largement applicables à l’ensemble du pays. Cependant, des conditions uniques à certains endroits signifient que les directives peuvent être sur ou sous-protectrices dans certaines régions.

Par exemple, cela peut se produire s'il y a des espèces dans une zone qui sont plus sensibles (ou moins sensibles) que les espèces qui ont été étudiées lors de l'élaboration de la ligne directrice. Dans d'autres cas, les niveaux naturels de fond d'une substance peuvent dépasser la recommandation sans aucun effet observé sur les espèces adaptées localement. De plus, le mélange unique de substances et d'attributs de l'eau à un endroit donné peut faire en sorte qu'une substance soit plus toxique (ou moins toxique) qu'elle ne l'a été dans l’ensemble des conditions étudiées lors de l'établissement de la recommandation.

En plus des lignes directrices nationales, certaines provinces et territoires ont élaboré leurs propres lignes directrices sur la qualité des eaux. Nous explorons actuellement la possibilité d’ajouter d’autres fonctionnalités sur DataStream qui permettront également d'afficher ces directives provinciales / territoriales.

Acute vs Chronic Guidelines

Des recommandations en matière de toxicité aiguë sont établies en fonction des effets des expositions transitoires à court terme (p. ex. rejets et déversements anormaux) et présentent généralement des concentrations plus élevées.

En revanche, les recommandations relatives à la toxicité chronique sont fondées sur les effets d’une exposition continue et à long terme et ont des niveaux de concentration recommandés inférieurs.

Les directives du CCME et de l'US EPA utilisent des approches légèrement différentes pour définir et évaluer les expositions aiguës et chroniques.

  • CCME aigu: ces lignes directrices sont créées à partir de données provenant de périodes d'exposition à court terme (24 à 96 heures). Les niveaux de concentration spécifiés ne sont pas destinés à protéger contre les effets néfastes, mais indiquent plutôt le niveau où des effets graves sont susceptibles d'être observés.
  • CCME Chronique: Ces lignes directrices identifient les niveaux de concentration maximum (ou plages pour des attributs tels que le pH) qui sont destinés à protéger toutes les formes de vie aquatique, à tous les stades de la vie, pour des périodes d'exposition indéfinies (≥7 jours pour les poissons et les invertébrés, ≥24 heures pour les plantes aquatiques et les algues).
  • US EPA Acute: ces directives se réfèrent à la concentration moyenne la plus élevée sur une heure qui ne devrait pas entraîner d'effets inacceptables si elle ne se produit pas plus d'une fois tous les trois ans, en moyenne.
  • US EPA Chronic: Ces directives se réfèrent à la concentration moyenne la plus élevée sur 4 jours qui ne devrait pas entraîner d'effets inacceptables si elle ne se produit pas plus d'une fois tous les trois ans, en moyenne.

Directives pour l’eau douce et l’eau de mer

Les environnements d'eau douce et d’eau de mer présentent des différences fondamentales dans la chimie de l'eau. Pour cette raison, des directives distinctes sont établies pour ces deux types de plans d'eau différents. À ce jour, aucune ligne directrice spécifique à la protection des espèces estuariennes n'a été élaborée.

Le CCME fournit les définitions suivantes pour chaque type de plan d’eau :

  • Eau douce: teneur totale en sel dissous ≤ 1000 ppm (1 g / L ou 1 ppt)
  • Marine : Teneur totale en sel dissous> 5000 ppm (5 g / L ou 50 ppt)

Lectures complémentaires

Pour plus d'informations sur la façon dont DataStream calcule et affiche les directives CCME et US EPA, visitez notre page Références.