About

Our mission is to promote knowledge sharing across watersheds and advance collaborative decision-making, so our waters remain healthy for generations to come

Mackenzie DataStream is an open access platform for sharing information on freshwater health. It currently allows users to access, visualize, and download full water quality datasets collected by communities in the Mackenzie River Basin.

Collaborators

Support for the incorporation of blockchain technology into DataStream is powered by RBC. This technology improves data security, tracking and transparency on DataStream. This collaboration showcases how blockchain, open data and citizen science can be used to create a culture of evidence-based decision making to ensure freshwater health.

Royal Bank of Canada Foundation Logo

RBC Foundation supports a broad range of community initiatives through donations, sponsorships, community investments and employee volunteer activities. Learn more about the RBC Foundation at www.rbc.com/community-sustainability

Evolution and Growth

DataStream was first piloted in the Mackenzie Basin through a unique collaboration between The Gordon Foundation and the Government of the Northwest Territories, Mackenzie DataStream’s Founding Partner. Today, Mackenzie DataStream is integral to the delivery of the Northwest Territories Water Strategy. The success of DataStream throughout the Mackenzie Basin has allowed this model to be expanded to Atlantic Canada, the Lake Winnipeg Basin and the Great Lakes and Saint Lawrence region.

In 2020, DataStream received its own charitable status, and The Gordon Foundation is committed to supporting its long-term success. The vision is for DataStream to become a pan-Canadian platform with regional hubs across the country to support local needs.

À propos

Notre mission est de promouvoir le partage des connaissances entre les bassins versants et de faire progresser la prise de décisions concertée, afin que nos eaux demeurent saines pour les générations à venir

Mackenzie DataStream est une plateforme d’accès libre pour le partage d’information sur la santé de l’eau douce. Elle permet aux utilisateurs d’accéder à des ensembles complets de données sur la qualité des eaux, recueillis par plus de 30 groupes de surveillance dans le bassin du fleuve Mackenzie, de les visualiser et de les télécharger.

Collaborateurs

Le soutien pour l’intégration de la technologie de la chaîne de blocs dans DataStream est assuré par RBC. Cette technologie améliore la sécurité, le suivi et la transparence des données sur DataStream. Cette collaboration montre comment une chaîne de blocs, des données ouvertes et la science citoyenne peuvent être utilisées pour créer une culture de prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes afin d’assurer la santé en eau douce.

Logo de la Fondation RBC

La Fondation RBC appuie une vaste gamme d’initiatives communautaires au moyen de dons, de commandites, d’investissements communautaires et d’activités bénévoles des employés. Apprenez-en plus à: www.rbc.com/community-sustainability

Évolution et expansion

DataStream a d’abord été mis à l’essai dans le bassin du Mackenzie grâce à une collaboration unique entre la Gordon Foundation et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, partenaire fondateur de Mackenzie DataStream. Aujourd’hui, Mackenzie DataStream fait partie intégrante de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de gestion des eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le succès de DataStream dans tout le bassin du Mackenzie a permis d’étendre ce modèle au Canada atlantique, au bassin du lac Winnipeg et à la région des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent.

En 2020, DataStream a reçu son propre statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, et la Gordon Foundation reste engagée à soutenir son succès à long terme. La vision est que DataStream devienne une plateforme pancanadienne avec des carrefours régionaux à travers le pays pour soutenir les besoins locaux.